How to Automatically Upload Your Photos to Flickr with Dropbox

Note: this method no longer works. Dropbox will simply recreate the Camera Uploads folder, and subsequent uploads will go there, instead of the public folder necessary to make this work. For an upate, see this post.

Flickr was once the app for photos, then Yahoo! came along and lost the internet. This week, Yahoo! brought Flickr back from the dead, among other things.

The result of the Flickr team's efforts is striking. Gone are the thumbnails and generous white space. Like many redesigns of late, Flickr now puts your content front and center, presenting images with as little chrome as possible. The Android app, too, is now a pretty stunning example of content-driven design.

I'm not profiling the web or Android app today, however. I'll let you judge them for yourself. The real Flickr news came not in the form of a redesign, but in terms of storage capacity. In case you hadn't heard, Flickr now offers an unprecedented 1 terabyte of storage, free to all users.

That fact alone makes Flickr the app to beat (once again) in the photo game.

No doubt you'll want to take advantage of all that storage (which equals well over 500,000 photos of 6 megabytes apiece). Here's how to automatically add every photo you take on your phone to Flickr.

First, make sure you have Dropbox installed on your phone (here are the iOS and the Android apps). Now, make sure you have instant upload enabled. If you're not familiar with how instant upload works, it's simple: once set up, every photo you take will now upload to a folder (/Camera Uploads) in your Dropbox folder automatically.

So how do you get those photos to Flickr? For this, we'll use the Swiss Army knife of the internet, IFTTT. Head over and use this recipe. The recipe is only triggered when a photo is added to the subfolder "Camera Uploads" in your public folder, so you'll need to head to the desktop version of Dropbox and drag the Camera Uploads folder into your public folder. If the folder isn't there, the recipe won't work.

Once you've set up the recipe, moved the folder, and set up instant upload on your phone, you're good to go. Every photo you take with your phone will be posted to your photostream. You may want to take the additional step of making your photostream private so that you can choose what to share proactively. To do that, just go to Flickr's settings page, click on the privacy tab, and scroll down to "Defaults for New Uploads." Click "edit," and under "Who can see your photostream?", choose "only you." Now no photos will be visible to the public unless you specifically share them. (Alternatively, if you're already logged in, just click here).

With 1TB of storage and a beautiful design, Flickr is the dominant photo app once more. With automatic backup for all your pictures, this recipe takes it a step further.

If you enjoyed this post, please share it with the button below and spread the love, and don't forget to subscribe for more Sssimpli goodness. Need more to read? Check out Sssimpli Links, a handpicked digest of the week's best tech-related writing from around the web, delivered (almost) every Friday.